Keeping warm, at -45!

It’s cooooooold here in Kotzebue. It’s been below 20 F for at least 2 weeks. My chickens are happy and warm though.

20120104-175809.jpg

Here they are scratching the floor for corn.

20120104-180135.jpg

My little white Banty fluffing up to warm up. She still lays an egg a day even though it’s so cold.

20120104-180322.jpg

My oh so frozen window. I carved a big smiley face in it afterward, so all the kids passing by would see the red light shining through.

Stay warm, like my chickens!!

About tundrachicks

I am the Chicken Momma of the Arctic. I live in Kotzebue, above the Arctic Circle in Alaska. I raise chickens for meat, and to keep for egg layers. I also do some Turkey's and this next spring maybe some quail.
This entry was posted in Chicken Husbandry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keeping warm, at -45!

  1. Misty says:

    Hey! I found you.
    Have been talking to the hubster about your chickens. Its fairly common around here to keep chickens n ive done a little research: trying to get myself more organized…but mentioning how youve been able to keep ur chickens alive well n still laying eggs at -45 has got my hunny’s interest piqued gain. I’ll be visiting ur blog more. Nice to have met u in person! Enjoy the sun while ir down in ci: we just hit ABOVE ZERO this a.m!

Leave a Reply

